Coronavirus (COVID-19): Important Information From Tri-City Medical Center Learn more

Board Of Directors New

Tri-City Medical Center

Board Of Directors New2020-07-27T03:01:50-07:00

Board of Directors

Chairperson James Dagostino, D.P.T., P.T.
Vice Chairperson Laura Mitchell, R.N., B.S.N., P.H.N.
Secretary Leigh Anne Grass, R.N., B.S.N., P.H.N.
Treasurer Julie Nygaard
Assistant Secretary RoseMarie V. Reno, R.N., A.C.N, B.S.N.
Assistant Treasurer Cyril F. Kellett, M.D.
Board Member Larry W. Schallock

The Tri-City Healthcare District is governed by publicly elected Board of Directors, who represent the residents of Carlsbad, Oceanside and Vista.

Notice to Declare Candidacy – 2016


James J. Dagostino, DPT, PT – Chairperson

Current Term of Office: 2014 – 2018

Current Board Committees:  Chair – Finance, Operations & Planning; Chair – Governance & Legislative Committee; Community Healthcare Alliance Committee; Audit/Compliance & Ethics Committee; Professional Affairs Committee

Profession:  Physical Therapist  Employer   Doctors of Physical Therapy Oceanside, CA.

City of Residence: Carlsbad

Community/Professional Activities – Former Chairman Government  Affairs Committee California Physical Therapy Association. Professor EDUCATA, Law and Ethics for the Practicing Physical Therapist, Expert Consultant Physical Therapy Board of California.

Laura Mitchell

Laura Mitchell, RN, BSN, PHN – Vice Chairperson

Current Term of Office: 2014 – 2018

Current Board Committee: Chair – Professional Affairs Committee; Governance & Legislative Committee; Finance, Operations & Planning Committee

Profession: Registered Nurse (RN, BSN, PHN)

City of Residence: Oceanside

Community/Professional Activities: Member of the Association for Women’s Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nursing. Charter member of the Xi Theta Chapter (CSU Dominguez Hills) of Sigma Theta Tau. Previously active with the California Nurses Association. 

Leigh Anne Grass, RN, BSN, PHN – Secretary

leigh anne grass

Current Term of Office: 2016 – 2020

Current Board Committee: Human Resources Committee; Professional Affairs Committee; Audit/Compliance & Ethics Committee

Profession: Registered Nurse with Current Active License; Certified Emergency Nurse, Executive Director/CEO Apreva Hospice

City of Residence: Carlsbad

Community/Professional Activities – President of the Board of Directors Apreva Hospice; Member of Soroptimist International Oceanside-Carlsbad; Member of California Nurses Association; Member of San Diego County Case Managers Association; Member of National Nurses United; Member of Case Management Society of America; Selected as Best Hospice Provider of 2017 by Good Housekeeping; Expert Resource Nurse for the California Board of Registered Nurses; 2002 Vitas Leadership Award; 2015 APREVA Leadership Award. Recipient of endorsement from SEIU, California Nurses Association, San Diego and Imperial County Labor Union, Oceanside Police Officers Association, Oceanside Fire Fighters Association, Vista Firefighters Association, California Democratic Party, DEMCCO, and Evolve California during the 2016 election cycle.

julie nygaard

Julie Nygaard – Treasurer


Current Term of Office: 2016-2020

Current Board Committees: Chair – Community Healthcare Alliance Committee; Chair – Finance, Operations & Planning

City of Residence: Carlsbad

Profession: Former Elementary School Teacher

Community/Professional Relations: NCTD Past Chair, SANDAG Housing Element Committee; Former member – San Diego County School Board Association. Former member – League of California Cities Executive Committee. Carlsbad Republican Women’s Club Member. Citizens Advisory Committee for Regional Airport Authority. Carlsbad Unified School District/City Council Coordinating Committee Member. Former Member – Carlsbad Child Care Commission. State Assembly “Woman of the Year” 1999.  Women’s Transportation Seminar San Diego Chapter “Woman of the Year” 2000


RoseMarie V. Reno, RN, BS – Assistant Secretary


Current Term of Office: 2016 – 2020

Current Board Committees: Governance & Legislative Committee; Human Resources Committee; Human Resources Employee Fiduciary Retirement Subcommittee

Profession: R.N. Current Active License; Nationally Board Certified Nurse Anesthetist -Retired; Public Health Education / Public Health Administration, B.S., Certified Teaching Credential, Masters degree Equivalency – State of CA; Professor Emeritus, MiraCosta College; Certified Hospital Administrator; Acute Care Emergency Room Trauma Nurse

City of Residence: Oceanside

Community/Professional Activities: Selected as Trustee of The Year by Modern Healthcare Magazine, Feb. 11, 2013; Participates in National and State Healthcare Education / Legislation Advocacy; Recipient National Honor Society; Recognition, San Diego County Public Health Award, 2001; Selected by the California Hospital Association as 2002 Trustee Leadership Award Recipient; Trustee Leadership Award Recipient from the Association of California Healthcare District; Public Health Leadership Award, 2011 by California Hospital Association; Republican Women’s Federated Member, Vista; Recipient of Republican Party Endorsement during the 2012 Re-election.


Cyril F. Kellett, MD – Assistant Treasurer


Current Term of Office: 2014 – 2018

Current Board Committees: Chair – Human Resources Committee; Chair – Human Resources Employee Fiduciary Retirement Subcommittee, Finance, Operations & Planning

Profession: Physician, retired

City of Residence: Carlsbad


Larry W. Schallock – Board Member


Current Term of Office: 2016 – 2020

Current Board Committees: Audit, Compliance & Ethics; Community Healthcare Advisory Committee

Profession: Hospital Pharmacist, retired; Indian Health Clinic pharmacist

City of Residence: Oceanside

Community/Professional Activities: Past chair TCMC Board of Directors 2006-2008 and 2013-2015; California Society of Hospital Pharmacists – past chair Governmental Affairs committee; California Hospital Association – past chair Governance Forum, past member of Board of Trustees and Executive Committee; 2014 – Leadership in Governance Award – California Hospital Association; City of Oceanside – current member of Successor Agency on Redevelopment; Medical Reserve Core volunteer – County of San Diego for Disaster Medical and Health Emergency Response; 2016 University of Arizona, College of Pharmacy Distinguished Alumnus Award for pharmacy and community service.